Saturday, December 18, 2010

Review for Tempest's Legacy by Nicole Peeler

Review for Tempest's Legacy by Nicole Peeler
(Marketing Copy)
Nicole Peeler returns with the third book in the Jane True series, a small-town fantasy perfect for fans of True Blood.
After a peaceful hiatus at home in Rockabill, Jane True thinks that her worst problem is that she still throws like a girl - at least while throwing fireballs. Her peace of mind ends, however, when Anyan arrives one night with terrible news . . . news that will rock Jane's world to its very core.

After demanding to help investigate a series of gruesome attacks on females -- supernatural, halfling, and human -- Jane quickly finds herself forced to confront her darkest nightmares as well as her deepest desires.

And she's not sure which she finds more frightening.

I have been a fan of the Jane True books for a long time now- and the newest installment does not disappoint. I love Jane because she is the kind of heroine I think is missing in UF- a chick who isn't born with a gun in her hand and a knife between her teeth. A woman who is learning about her power. Sure she can be brash and ballsy-- but she is insecure and scared to death of her power and the dangerous beings that surround her.

On the Romantic note- at the end of the last book Jane had decided to end things with her vampire boyfriend, Ryu. This would be a lot simpler if she could manage to stay away from him-- but of course danger lurks and who is better equipped than a baobahn sith investigator to protect little ol' Jane?

Anyan Barghest that's who.


Ryu was cute while he lasted, but I heart Anyan. He is big (my preference), he is strong( 10 points), and instead of trying to wrap Jane up in bubble wrap and hide her from the world's sharper bits-- Anyan helps develop Jane's abilities (we will get back to that). It is interesting that they choose to call out to True Blood fans (Remember when those were called the Southern Vampire Books?) because there is one MAJOR difference between our Sookie and our Jane- Our Jane doesn't go bed hopping. As such there is very little sweatiness in this book (awwww) but it will make it all that much hotter when it happens.


The mythology in these books is so deep and wide. There are so many magical creatures and connections that it can be hard to keep up. I seriously recommend you start at the beginning of the series to get the full effect. Jane's powers really make huge strides in this book, making her go from - "Okay, I can protect myself" to "Damn, I'm a bad bitch and can kick your ass!" Not only does this up the excitement factor but it also creates a serious conflict for Jane. It would be so easy to forget her humanity and go with the power. She could bury her pain in revenge. It is the steady presence of her friends and one seriously sexy shapeshifter that keep her at an even(ish) keel.



I liked this book and I love this series. It is fun and it is exciting, but it is also...real? I feel like Jane could be a woman I know who happens to find out her mother is a selkie and is thrust into a whole host of political shite she isn't prepared for. This is the kind of stuff I write and it excites me to see a writer making it work in publication.

So-- even though there is very little smexy action-- I highly recommend this book!


As an aside Ms. Jane must have been watching a bit of BBC America- all of the sudden she “Fancies a curry” and other Brit-isms that made me say “hmm?”



Book was provided pre-publication by Net- Galley.

1 comment:

BookGirl said...

I loved your review it makes me want to read the book even more!